New Zealand Marine Science Society

Elected NZMSS Council for 2018/19 

The council welcomes comments and suggestions from the membership.  The council meets monthly via teleconference.  If you have an issue the society should address, or a general enquiry, please contact the Secretary (


Council Officers

President, Dr. Nick Shears, University of Auckland
Vice-President, Kathy Walls, Ministry for Primary Industries

Treasurer, Dr. Hannah Jones, Waikato Regional Council
Secretary, Dana Clark, Cawthron Institute

Council Members

Immediate Past President, Dr. Hilke Giles, Pisces Consulting

Dr. Emma Newcombe, Cawthron Institute

Prof. Islay Marsden, University of Canterbury

Prof. Liz Slooten, University of Otago

Dr. Will Rayment, University of Otago

Dr. Anna Madarasz-Smith , Hawkes' Bay Regional Council



Dr. Rob Major, Cawthron Institute

Dr. Holly Bennett, Cawthron Institute

Dr. Ani Murchie, NIWA

Student Representatives:

Vera Rullens, University of Waikato

Leena Riekkola, University of Auckland
Sam Thomas, University of Otago